Gouvernement Princier de Monaco
Print this page All the news
News of theme "Diplomacy and International Presence"
28 March 2017 Press release

Monaco is Elected to the Presidency of the Eutelsat-IGO Assembly of Parties

Christian Roisse, outgoing Executive Secretary of Eutelsat-IGO (France), Rodolphe Belmer, Director General of Eutelsat S.A., Mr. Piotr Dmochowski-Lipski, Elected Executive Secretary of Eutelsat-IGO (Poland), Frédéric Labarrère, President of the Assembly of Parties of Eutelsat-IGO (Monaco) and Ivana Stankovic, Vice-President (Serbia).


The 40th meeting of the Assembly of Parties of the European Telecommunications Satellite Organization - EUTELSAT – was held in Paris on 15 and 16 March 2017.

At this meeting, Mr. Frédéric Labarrère, Minister at the Embassy of the Principality of Monaco in France, Vice-Chairman-in-Office, was elected by acclamation as President of the Assembly of Parties.  Serbia was elected as Vice-President of the Assembly.  The term of office of the Presidency of the Assembly is two years.

The new Executive Secretary of the Organization, who was also elected at the meeting, is Mr. Piotr Dmochowski-Lipski, from Poland, who will replace the current Executive Secretary, Mr. Christian Roisse (France) on 2 July 2017.  Mr. Roisse has been in office since 2005.

A new Consultative Committee, the Organization's advisory body, was also appointed, consisting of the Parties of France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal and Switzerland.

Numerous topics were discussed at this Assembly, such as issues relating to the use of radio frequencies assigned to Eutelsat-IGO, deliberate programme interference transmitted by satellite, protection of the C-band for the satellite fixed service, and concerning the participation of Eutelsat-IGO in the activities of the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space, the Broadband Commission for Sustainable Development, and the International Telecommunication Union and its relations with other intergovernmental satellite organisations.

As a reminder, the EUTELSAT Intergovernmental Organization, now known as EUTELSAT-IGO, has 49 member States.  It was founded in 1977 and implemented the first telecommunications satellite system in Europe.  In 2001, the Organization created EUTELSAT S.A., a satellite operator, to which it transferred its activities while continuing to ensure that the company complied with certain agreed commitments with regard to the EUTELSAT member States.

Autres actualités du thème